‘Sorrow Drips Into Your Heart’

Early in the morning, before you can quite see the sun, but when there is enough light to see the growing sky and the branches of trees, an autumnal wind usually blows scurrying leaves across the pavement and a feeling of life into your soul.  If I listen very intently, I can feel the energy in the atmosphere around me, the beating of my own heart, the urge to stride through the slight mist.  These times, in the early morning, are the easiest times for me to pray.  If I listen I hear nature’s chirps and calls, the wind in the trees, and I feel the air, see the sky growing golden and light blue.  I feel closest to God, for I am reveling in the cycle of Life that he has created.

But this time is also dangerous to me, for it makes me want to be alone, to make myself solitary so I can think.  It makes me want to grasp the early morning, to make it stay.  Once, not very long ago, I hoped that perhaps God would make the sun still in the sky somewhere far away, so I could keep this early light to myself.

So easily we taint our God-given pleasures.  We turn them into things that must stay, that must be present with us always.  Our blessings become our gods, and we give, as I heard in a book the other night, our “living affection to dying things.”  Things like nature serve a purpose, not only for the earth and the ecosystems they’re placed in—not only for the cycle of life but to enhance our appreciation of God and his masterful and intelligent design.  It is not the things we enjoy that demand our love and our undivided worship, it is God.

We waste so much of our sorrow on these passing things because they’re passing.  If our love and our faith and our entire being were implanted and embedded in God, then we would not have any sorrow to waste on passing things.  Rather, we would see nature and all the other gifts and pleasures in life through the eyes of righteousness, and they become what they are: blessings.  Enjoy your youth.  Don’t lament because it’s passing (this is my biggest problem) but embrace the whole cycle of growing up.  Enjoy your motherhood or fatherhood, your singleness or your married life, your old age.  Embrace it and come to terms with it.  Don’t weep because a time of your life you loved has passed, but keep on living with the assurance that you enjoyed it, and lived to the best of your ability, and now there is another adventure ahead of you.  Even we are passing, these bodies we have now, and there’s nothing we can do about it.  But our soul, the essence of our being, is eternal, and when we die, it will not linger on this earth to lament about lost pleasures.  It will haste on its way, called to stand before God and give an account of that life it just left.

The only reason we have for rejoicing is that there is a God in the heavens who has loved his people enough to give his own life for them, in order that they might live.  It’s because of this that we can laugh and sing and dance, that we can rejoice and be glad, that we can find joy in the blessings he has given us, and joy in him because of the assurance that we will one day be called into his presence.  Don’t let the world shape your view of God, but let your belief in God and your faith shape your view of the world.  For the world changes with its fashions and its phases, but God never changes, and that should be our greatest comfort: he is steadfast.

4 thoughts on “‘Sorrow Drips Into Your Heart’

  1. The world is fleeting and easily wavers. We can’t trust or depend on the world since it is ever-changing. The future is never as steadfast as we sometimes perceive. It is so comforting to know that God NEVER has changed and NEVER will. He is the same yesterday, today and tomorrow.

    Your quote on the side bar is a perfect example: “Carpe diem quam minime credula postero” meaning: “Sieze the day, trusting as little in the future as possible.” We have to seize (or appreciate) the moment (or the day) that the Lord has blessed us with and only depend on HIM.

    “Don’t lament because it’s passing (this is my biggest problem) [And also MY biggest problem…] but embrace the whole cycle of growing up. Enjoy your motherhood or fatherhood, your singleness or your married life, your old age. Embrace it and come to terms with it.” I love that! Keep living and move on with the memories in your heart.

    I love reading your posts and I can’t wait for more. They always make me think and examine my life. :) Thank you!

  2. Oh Ruby, …. praise God. What a wonderful piece of encouragement and truth to read before bed. Of course I want to (again) extol you for writing this, but instead I will praise God for giving you the mind to contemplate these things, the creative prowess to express them with such perspicuity, and the social outlet to bless others with them. :-)

  3. Sorrow is a necessary tool for growth. I’ve almost finished with the book Hinds’ Feet on High Places and I’ve been reading about how Sorrow and Suffering were the companions that the CHief Shepherd appointed to Much-Afraid to take her to the High Places. Without Sorrow and Suffering, she would stay in the Valley of Humilation, she would never go to her HIgh Places and she would never receive her new name which is Grace and Glory. Unless she took hold of their hands and accepted their help, she would remain just as she was, unchanged and unmoved by Life.

    I know that your nickname is Sorrow and Suffering. I’m guessing that Gabriel is Sorrow and you are Suffering.

    I know that God has great plans for me, but I have to be able to accept the sorrow and suffering that comes with following the way of Jesus and HIs cross. At one glance, the cross appears to be a symbol of sorrow, but if you look at it again, it is a symbol of hope for all CHristians for in HIs sorrow and suffering, we are redeemed and set free.

    Sorrow drips into my heart when I see the faithlessness and moral decay of our society. When He returns, all will be set aright.

Leave a Reply

