What I Called Mine

My youth was what I called mine.  And more and more, I realize it never was.  As I grow older, I see it was only a part of me; something that defined me; but it never belonged to me, nor I to it.  It was something fleeting, something that gave me a glimpse of everything I would wish to be, and then threw me headlong into something like grief, and I saw it was gone. And suddenly I faced something much darker, and there were more shadows than before, but behind me was that bright light, and sometimes I looked over my shoulder at it, and reached out towards it.  But we never go back, because there is no going back. There is only forwards, and that’s the best we can do, just the next thing.

And O, I wish that I wasn’t quite so old.  Today in the store I saw an old friend of my family.  She worked at the hospital where I was born.  She asked me how old I was, and when I told her, she said: “Oh my, I never thought you would get that old.” “Well I certainly didn’t think I would either,” I said.  And we laughed, but my heart broke.

Even now my memory is fading, and with a kind of desperation I try to cling to something that loses itself, and I feel a dull kind of ache in place of it.

I’m still young, I’m still young.  There is still so much to learn, and ahead are years packed with new memories. But I am so hesitant to let go, so unwilling to part with something I always associated with truth and light and goodness and purity, so unwilling to walk steadily into the unknown.

Eyes wide open, full of images.  Ears filled with many sounds, and a heart so full I think it will break, mind open, thirsting for learning.  Soul reaching out with love, receiving love, binding itself to my Savior.  And from that perspective, I am blessed.  I might go mad, I might forget everything.  But how can I ever forget the essence of my life, the Redeemer of my soul? I can’t ever, and that is the important thing.  I am eternally bound.

5 thoughts on “What I Called Mine

  1. That is a great poem, Ruby. What an apropos metaphor to use!

    You still have youth and will continue to have it for a long time more. Picasso said “Youth has no age.” :-)

  2. That is an incredible poem. Seriously, I had to reread it and I normally don’t need to reread poetry. This is my favorite blog post from you so far – and the one I can relate to most…

  3. Dear Olivia,
    I’m glad that you liked it and that it encouraged you!

    Dear Ryan,
    Yes, but some of us lose it more quickly than others. But thank you for your comment, and for the encouragement.

    Dear Rachel,
    Thank you… :)

    Dear Alison,
    Thank you, and your encouragement and advice mean a lot to me! Poetry has been a real struggle for me, but I’ve been trying to work at it and my aunt has helped me a great deal.

    In Christ,
    ~Ruby

Leave a Reply

