Wait… I Tell Myself

I have been thinking about the word wait, and I love that word.  It is everything I would wish to be.

Wait quietly. Wait patiently.  Wait slowly. Wait. Wait. Wait.

I tell myself to be gracious, to be kind.  I tell myself to wait.  To not rush my words.  To think before I speak.  To pray before I plan.  To plan before I take action.

I tell myself to think quietly.

I tell myself to wait, and be wise.  I tell myself to wait until the time is right, and then seize the day.

I tell myself that my time is short.  And I ask myself what I will do with that time.

My capability is low.  My strength is weak.  Strive for perfection, settle for excellence, a friend told me.

Festina Lente – Make haste slowly.  I think of the nuns in the Sound of Music, slowly walking to answer the bell at the gate.  I think of Treebeard – “Don’t be hasty!”  I think of God, who has been patient with me, and I yearn for the time when I will be perfected.

Wait.

Work and wait, I tell myself.  Be productive, and wait.  Be kind, and wait.

“Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.” – Plato

6 thoughts on “Wait… I Tell Myself

  1. I’ve been learning how to wait and to learn that I’m not the master of my own life. I can make plans and dream, but I have to learn how to be flexible, and learn that my dreams can’t/won’t always come to pass.

    God has brought me very low, I have to learn how to wait on HIm for my time to come. When we exalt ourselves too much, He has to bring us low to show His all-Redeeming power and grace.

    I thought I had my life all figured out and that I was in control of my destiny, I thought that I didn’t need to pray, and now I find myself in a homeless shelter.

    I sit in the shelter, wondering how/when HE will bring me out!

    • Dear Maureen,

      I will be praying for you. I thank God for your faith, and I too have faith that He will continue to work out his purposes for your life, even in your suffering. I know this is probably what everybody tells you, but even though you may feel alone and friendless, he is always there, watching over you…. and he loves you. Continue to rest in him, and pray… I will be praying for you.

  2. Thanks for your prayers! They’ve helped, because this Thursday, August 11th, I will be moving into my own apartment. I won’t forget this experience of being homeless and I won’t forget the lessons I’ve learned. Hopefully, I will never be homeless again, but being homeless causes you to be humble and to learn to trust in God,

    If I am somehow homeless, it will be only to teach me lessons.

    • Dear Maureen,

      Praise God for this answer to prayer! I will definitely be thinking about you as you prepare to make this move, and yes, certainly your experience being homeless has been awful, but God has his own purposes he is constantly working out through you. He has finally blessed you.
      In Christ,
      ~Ruby

Leave a Reply

