Our Biggest Fear

I’m deathly afraid of centipedes. I have been ever since I was little.  I still have nightmares about them crawling over my bare skin.

One day I wondered: “What if our house was inside an invisible centipede? Or what if Cleveland Heights was?  What if the sky was really the inside of him? What if the whole world was a centipede?”

What is your biggest fear?  And what if you couldn’t escape your biggest fear no matter where you went? Would you shiver and sweat until you’re dead?  What if it was more gigantic and dangerous than you ever dreamed?

And what if your biggest fear was the only thing that could save you from everything terrifying about it?

What would you do?

3 thoughts on “Our Biggest Fear

  1. Sharks. And I would pass out. Then wake up. Then pass out. Then wake up. Live in a state of constant high stress… passing out occasionally.

  2. That guy in the picture is now my biggest fear. Now that I’ve seen him. It supersedes the fear of having my daughter run off and join a group of literary gypsies who form their own indie rock group and become a big success and move to Beverly Hills and try to start a seeker-sensitive church.

    Actually, Honey, you raise a great point. That which we should most fear (Is. 11:2-3, Is. 66:1-3, Prov. 1:7) is the source of our ultimate salvation. Ps 27:1: “The LORD is my light and my salvation–whom shall I fear?” Why, HIM, of course!!

    Love, Dad

Leave a Reply

