a glimmer of hope


“For the Lord will not cast off forever;

but, though he cause grief,

He will have compassion according to the abundance of his steadfast love,

For he does not willingly afflict or grieve the children of man.” – Lamentations 3:31-33

God’s mercies are new every morning… every evening.  It comes in things that we don’t soak in every day—like the sunset or sunrise, marking the close or beginning of a new day.

“Light dawns in the darkness for the upright;

he is gracious, merciful, and righteous.” – Pslam 112:4

The sun never sets without the hope of a dawn.  We never go to bed anxious that morning might never come.  God has given us this hope. Though darkness may come, the sun is sure to rise again. “Beyond this labyrinth of darkness, there is a realm of light.”  We must trod patiently through the darkness to gain the light.  And during that time, God’s mercy never leads us.  It constantly comes as strength to bear each new trial.

“But for you who fear my name, the sun of righteousness will rise with healing in its wings. You shall go out like calves leaping from the stall.” – Malachi 4:2

When calves have been shut up in a stall for a few days, and they are let out, they are “fresh,” meaning that they have a burst of strength and energy.  That’s why I love this verse… It promises healing after a tribulation.  A healing that doesn’t come and leave us healed yet weak, but strong, and enabled to do the work of the kingdom.

5 thoughts on “a glimmer of hope

  1. Actually, the quote you have as attributed to J.M. Barrie is not from any of his work. It comes from Spielberg’s flawed movie Hook. It’s flawed because it has numerous mistakes in as comapred to Barrie’s original stories.
    There is a faithful continuation derived from Barrie’s notes for more adventure: Click!

    BELIEVE!

  2. Will God have mercy on me and forgive me for the things that I have done?

    I need healing from God!!!!

  3. ” But this I call to mind,and therefore I have hope:
    The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases;
    his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning;great is your faithfulness.”The LORD is my portion,” says my soul,“therefore I will hope in him.” The LORD is good to those who wait for him, to the soul who seeks him.”Lamentations 3:21-25 In this I hope, find comfort, refuge…the Lord is good to the soul who seeks Him, the steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercy is endless. Is it not a mercy that each day ends? Is it not a mercy that He gives us rest each day? What if days never ended and we went on and on without a chance of a new day without any mistakes in it? Here is the crux…is the Lord my portion, the best of who I am, what I am, what I need, who I need ? When He is there is my hope. Thanks for the post Ruby. By the way it seems I recognize that road, do I?

  4. I love this post, Ruby! So full of hope. It makes me trust God more with what I don’t know. It makes me want to turn back to Him even though I don’t know the way.

    This post is meant to uplift and encourage us.

    At this point, I really need to fellowship with other Christians so that I’ll remain uplifted and encouraged to walk in the ways of the LORD.

    I was just wondering would you like to fellowship with me and discuss the Bible together. Right now, I’m studying in the Book of Ecclesiastes and would love to discuss this wonderful book!!!

Leave a Reply

